MEPs relaunch All Parties Group on Kashmir in European Parliament

In a major development here in Brussels a group of European Parliament members has announced to relaunch the All Parties Group on Kashmir – European Parliament (APGK). This was stated by the MEP Klaus Buchner in a press release after holding a meeting in European Parliament today. The statement said that “From 2004 to 2014, the European Parliament (EP) had an “All Parties Group on Kashmir – European Parliament (APGK)” to highlight the issue (especially human rights) of Kashmir and to bring together key actors from the region. As most of those MEPs were from the UK which has now left the EU, it is necessary to relaunch that APGK.

Therefore today, during a luncheon meeting MEPs from different countries and different political groups came together in the European Parliament to continue the parliamentary work on Kashmir through the re-launch of an informal group, the “All Parties Group on Kashmir – European Parliament (APGK)”. This included MEP Klaus Buchner, MEP Mohammed Chahim (represented by his assistant Bauke Brouwer), MEP Maxette Pirbakas, MEP Cartes Puigdemont, and MEP Bernhard Zimniok, joined by Barrister Majid Tramboo (Organisation of Kashmir Coalition, OKC), Professor Josep Lluis Alay and Ex-MEP Frank Schwalba-Roth.

It was decided that APGK should serve as an umbrella informal group to facilitate and coordinate all the work and efforts to protect human rights including the right to self-determination.”

Keeping this as the focal point, it was decided in the meeting:

– to nominate MEP Klaus Buchner as President of APGK, – to cooperate with the “Organisation of Kashmir Coalition (OKC)”

– to be in close contact with EP committees and the European External Action Service, – to put forward an EP Urgent Resolution on the detained Kashmiri leadership, – to organise an exhibition in the EP,

– to organise a “Global Discourse” on Kashmir with participants from the three sides (including parliamentarians from India and Pakistan).

“APGK is open for other MEPs to join our work”, says the statement.